Ateliers et Conferences

Ateliers & Conferences

Vendredi 3 mars 2017 – ATELIER MASTER CLASS | Le Villate
9:30am – 10:30am  Danilo Pérez (Panama)
Danilo_solo_promo_picture-1406662369 Pianiste, compositeur, éducateur, le Panaméen Danilo Pérez compte parmi les musiciens les plus dynamiques et les plus influents de notre temps. Il étudie au Conservatoire National du Panama, puis rejoint le Berklee College of Music. Il joue alors avec Jon Hendricks, Terence Blanchard ou Paquito D’Rivera pour ne citer que ceux-là et collabore plus tard avec de grands noms tels que Dizzy Gillespie, Wayne Shorter, pour former le grand quatuor de Shorter avec John Patitucci et Brian Blade. Il a été plusieurs fois nominé aux Grammy Awards et Latin Grammy pour une bonne partie de ses œuvres. En 2015, il sort son dernier album « Children Of The Light ».

Très engagé socialement, Danilo Pérez, a été ambassadeur de bonne volonté à l’UNICEF. Il est actuellement Artiste de l’UNESCO pour la paix, Ambassadeur Culturel de la République du Panama, Fondateur et Directeur Artistique du Panama Jazz Festival et Directeur artistique du Berklee Global Jazz Institute du Boston’s Berklee College of Music.

Le PAPJAZZ a l’honneur d’accueillir pour cette 11ème édition un grand Monsieur du latin jazz.

Danilo Pérez

  Vendredi 3 mars 2017 – CONFERENCE sur la musicothérapie | Université Quisqueya
9:30am – 11h30am  Patricia Zarate (Panama)
unnamed Née et élevée à Santiago, du Chili, la saxophoniste Patricia Zárate a étudié au Berklee College of Music. Diplômée en 1999, elle fait partie de la première génération d’étudiants en musicothérapie de cette université de renom, et complète ce diplôme par un master en jazz à NYU. Elle propose à l’occasion du PAPJAZZ, aux psychologues et thérapeutes, et autres professionnels de la santé une conférence sur la musicothérapie.

Lundi 6 mars 2017 – ATELIER | Fokal
9h am – 10h30 pm Carol Welsman (Canada)
carol-welsman-cover-shot-01 Carol Welsman est une chanteuse de jazz dont le talent est acclamé sur la scène internationale. Avec six Juno (les Grammy canadiens) à son actif, son album I Like Men – Reflections of Miss Peggy Lee était en 2008 parmi les 5 meilleurs albums de l’année aux Etats-Unis. En trio ou accompagnée d’un orchestre symphonique, Carol Welsman est aujourd’hui une des plus grandes voix de la scène jazz.

Des balades, du swing, une voix magnifique et une pianiste d’une grande sensibilité, une des grandes têtes d’affiche de la 11e édition du PAPJAZZ.


Lundi 6 mars 2017 – ATELIER | Fokal
11h am – 12:30 pm  Anne Paceo (France)
ANNE PACEO Batteuse sans frontières depuis l’âge de 19 ans, Anne Paceo a joué, dans plus de 39 pays sur les 5 continents et avec les plus grands musiciens, Rhoda Scott, Yaron Herman, Alain Jean-Marie etc.  Elle remporte à 24 ans une Victoire de la Musique et publie 4 disques, tous salués par la critique.

Avec le pianiste Leonardo Montana et le contrebassiste Joan Eche-Puig, Anne Paceo crée le trio « Triphase » un conte musical où se révèlent trois belles personnalités. Une belle soirée de jazz pur dont l’empreinte n’est pas près de s’effacer !


Mardi 7 mars 2017 – ATELIERS | Fokal
9h am – 10h30 pm Yilian Canizares (Cuba/Suisse)
 Parrains FFV La chanteuse et violoniste Suisse, Yilian Canizares puise dans ses origines cubaines un rythme et une énergie folle ! Elle traverse d’un bond les Nocturnes de Chopin, les sonorités de Chucho Valdéz et l’audace des cérémonies de Santeria.

Rien n’est mièvre dans sa musique, tout est urgent, impérieux, et parfaitement maîtrisé. Et la nature fluide de Yilian Canizares laissera au public haïtien un souvenir impérissable.

11h am – 12h30 pm Sebastian Schunke Quartet (Allemagne)
sebastian-schunke-quartet L’expression est très importante dans le travail du pianiste Allemand Sebastian Schunke dont la réputation internationale de musicien de latin jazz n’est plus à faire. Avec un style très moderne, Sebastian Schunke revisite le style avec brio et clarté. Perpétuellement dans l’expérimentation, il crée en 2004 un merveilleux orchestre avec voix, cordes, guitare électrique, cuivres et section rythmique.

Sur des rythmes afro-latins, Sebastian Schunke vous emmènera sur un chemin musical qui n’appartient qu’à lui.


Mercredi 8 mars 2017 – ATELIERS | Fokal
9h30 am – 11h am  Jean-Paul Estievenart Trio (Belgique)
 unnamed Jean-Paul Estiévenart est un musicien curieux et ouvert, qualités qui en font un musicien en perpétuelle recherche.
Django d’Or en 2006, représentant de la Belgique au sein du European Youth Jazz Orchestra en 2007 et lauréat des Octaves de la Musique en 2009, il émerveille par sa grande capacité d’improvisation, sa finesse et son énergie. Après plus de dix ans de carrière, il est devenu une figure incontournable de la scène du jazz.
Il confirme son talent avec un trio époustouflant avec Sam Gertsmans à la contrebasse et Antoine Pierre à la batterie. (« Wanted », DeWerf, 2013 / « Behind The Darkness », Igloo, 2016)
11h am – 12h30 pm Melissa Aldana (Chili)
melissa-aldana Saxophoniste à la technique impeccable, la Chilienne Melissa Aldana excelle dans des interprétations de Thelonious Monk et de Sonny Rollins, mais aussi dans des compositions originales aux accents pur jazz, notamment au sein du groupe La Resistancia, dans lequel on retrouve d’ailleurs Sebastian Jordan, bien connu du public du PAPJAZZ.

Issue d’une famille de musiciens renommée au Chili, Melissa Aldana a reçu la Berklee Presidential Scholarship en 2007. Depuis, elle se produit à New-York sur des scènes prestigieuses : Village Vanguard, ou The Blue Note.

Performance et fraîcheur, un concert tout en finesse et en prouesses.

 


Jeudi 9 mars 2017 – ATELIER | Fokal
9h am – 10:30 am Halie Loren (USA)
Lauréate des Independent Music Awards pour son premier album They Oughta Write a Song (2008), la chanteuse Halie Loren revisite avec fraîcheur et passion des standards tels que Quizas, quizas, quizas, In a sentimental mood ou encore A whiter shade of pale. Son album Heart First (2012) révèle une artiste d’une pureté tonale et d’une prouesse d’interprétation exceptionnelles, d’un talent qui s’affirme au fil du temps.

Avec un répertoire de standards jazz, de classiques pop réinventés et de compositions originales étincelantes, Halie Loren un concert à voir absolument !


11h am – 12h30 pm Veronica Ferreiro (Espagne)
veronica-ferreiro Veronica Ferreiro est une jeune chanteuse et compositrice Espagnole, dont le premier album, Laio, est répertorié dans de prestigieux catalogues internationaux tels que Dusty Groove América de Chicago et la Giant Step de NY. Longtemps n°1 des téléchargements Itunes en Espagne dans la catégorie jazz, Veronica Ferreiro parcourt les plus grands festivals de jazz de la planète.

Une voix chaude et grave, considérée comme l’une des plus prometteuses. A ne pas manquer !


Vendredi 10 mars 2017 – ATELIER | Fokal
9h am – 10h30 am Paco Renteria (Mexique)
paco-renteria-imagen-prensa Le guitariste Mexicain Paco Rentería, considéré comme le meilleur guitariste au monde, a le talent fou de transformer chacune de ses scènes en un tsunami d’émotions et de sensations. Avec plus de 100 concerts par an, Paco Rentería fascine les spectateurs du monde entier par le jeu de ses mains sur les cordes de sa guitare et son étonnante virtuosité.

Son jeu tribal, désinnibé voire provocant, bouleverse totalement la logique musicale de ses mélodies Gypsy, latines, orientales, de ses sonorités progressives et parfois même rock métal.

Paco Renteria, une énergie phénoménale ou tout simplement bouleversante !

Workshops & Conferences

Workshops & Conferences

 

Friday, March 3rd 2017 – WORKSHOP MASTER CLASS | Le Villate
9:30am – 10:30am  Danilo Pérez (Panama)
Danilo_solo_promo_picture-1406662369 Pianist, composer, educator Panamanian Danilo Pérez is one of the most dynamic and influential musicians of our time. He studied at the National Conservatory of Panama, then joined the Berklee College of Music. He played with Jon Hendricks, Terence Blanchard and Paquito D’Rivera to name just a few, and later collaborated with renowned artists as Dizzy Gillespie, Wayne Shorter to form Shorter’s great quartet with John Patitucci and Brian Blade. He has been nominated several times for the Grammy and Latin Grammy for a good part of his works. In 2015, he released his latest album “Children Of The Light”.

Very socially committed, Danilo Pérez, has been a Goodwill Ambassador to UNICEF. He currently serves as UNESCO Artist for Peace, Cultural Ambassador to the Republic of Panama, Founder and Artistic Director of the Panama Jazz Festival, and Artistic Director of the Berklee Global Jazz Institute in Boston’s Berklee College of Music.

The PAPJAZZ has the honor to host for this 11th edition a great sir of Latin jazz.

Danilo Pérez

  Friday, March 3rd 2017 – Music therapy CONFERENCE | Quisqueya University
9:30am – 11h30am  Patricia Zarate (Panama)
unnamed Born and raised in Santiago, Chile, the saxophonist Patricia Zárate has studied at the Berklee College of Music. Graduated in 1999, she is part of the first generation of music therapy students at this renowned university, and completes her degree with a jazz master at NYU. During the PAPJAZZ, she will offer a conference on music therapy for psychologists, therapists and other health professionals.

Monday, March 6th 2017 –WORKSHOP | Fokal
9 am – 10:30 am Carol Welsman (Canada)
carol-welsman-cover-shot-01 Carol Welsman is an internationally acclaimed jazz singer. Her album I Like Men – Reflections of Miss Peggy Lee won six Juno (Canadian Grammy) and was among the five best albums of the year 2008 in the US. Within a trio or with a symphony orchestra, Carol Welsman is one of the greatest voices on the jazz scene.

Ballads, swing, a beautiful voice and a pianist of great sensitivity, one of the headliners of the 11th edition of the PAPJAZZ.

Monday, March 6th 2017 – WORKSHOP | Fokal
11 am – 12:30 pm  Anne Paceo (France)
ANNE PACEO Ever since she was nineteen, Anne Paceo, a drummer without frontiers, has performed in more than 39 countries on 5 continents, with the most famous musicians (Rhoda Scott,  Yaron Herman,  Alain Jean-Marie…). At 24, she won a Victoire de la Musique (French Grammy) and has issued 4 albums, all of them well received by critics.

With pianist Leonardo Montana and double bass player Joan Eche-Puig, Anne Paceo created this trio “Triphase”, a musical story where three beautiful characters are revealed. A great pure jazz evening whose memory is sure to last for a long time!


Tuesday, March 7th 2017 – WORKSHOPS | Fokal
9 am – 10:30 pm Yilian Canizares (Cuba/Switzerland)
 Parrains FFV A Swiss singer and violinist, Yilian Canizares takes from her Cuban roots both a sense of rhythm and a tremendous energy! She delves through Chopin’s Nocturnes, the sounds of Chucho Valdéz, and the daring of Santeria ceremonies.

Nothing is weak in her music, everything is urgent, compelling and perfectly managed. And the fluid nature of Yilian Canizares will make a lasting impression on the Haitian public.

11 am – 12:30 pm Sebastian Schunke Quartet (Germany)
sebastian-schunke-quartet Expression is very important in the works of German pianist Sebastian Schunke, whose international fame for Latin Jazz is firmly established. Thanks to a truly modern style, Sebastian Schunke revisits the style brilliantly and effectively.

Constantly experimenting, he created in 2004 a wonderful orchestra with vocals, strings, electric guitar, brass and rhythm sections.

With Afro-Latin rhythms, Sebastian Schunke will lead you on his very own a musical path.


Wednesday, March 8th 2017 – WORKSHOPS | Fokal
9:30 am – 11 am Jean-Paul Estievenart (Belgium)
unnamed Jean-Paul Estiévenart’s curiosity and openness make of him a musician that is constantly searching.

Django d’Or award in 2006, representing Belgium in European Youth Jazz Orchestra in 2007 and being awarded the prix Octaves de la Musique in 2009, Estiévenart impresses people by his keen ability to improvise, his subtlety and energy.

Over ten years on the road, Estiévenart has become one of the most in-demand trumpet players today.

He is now confirming his talent in an amazing trio with Sam Gertsmans on double bass and Antoine Pierre on drums. (‘Wanted’ , De Werf, 2013 / « Behind The Darkness, Igloo, 2016)

11 am – 12:30 pm Melissa Aldana (Chile)
melissa-aldana Melissa Aldana, a Chilean sax player with a flawless technique, is not only at her best during her performances of Thelonious Monk’s and Sonny Rollins’, but also when she plays original compositions with a pure jazz touch, especially in the band La Resistencia that also features Sebastian Jordan, well-known among the PaP Jazz audience.

Melissa Aldana comes from a renown family of musicians and was awarded the Berklee Presidential Scholarship in 2007. Since then, she’s performed on New-York’s most prestigious stages: Village Vanguard and The Blue Note.

A fresh perspective and a sense of performance, a refined and technical feat.


Thursday, March 9th 2017 –  WORKSHOP | Fokal
9 am – 10:30 pm Halie Loren (USA)
halie_loren_bob-williams-photographer_reddresslights Winner of an Independent Music Award for her first album They Oughta Write a Song (2008), singer Halie Loren revisits with freshness and passion standards such as Quizás, quizás, quizás, In a Sentimental Mood and even A Whiter Shade of Pale. Her album Heart First (2012) shows an artist with an outstanding tonal purity, an exceptional performance feat, and a skill that is increasingly refined.

With a repertoire of jazz standards, reinvented pop classics and glittering original compositions, Halie Loren is a must-see concert!

11h am – 12h30 pm Veronica Ferreiro (Spain)
veronica-ferreiro Veronica Ferreiro is a young Spanish singer and composer, whose first album Laio, is featured in prestigious international record catalogues, such as Dusty Groove America of Chicago and Giant Step in NY. Staying for a long time at Number One of Itunes Spain Jazz Downloads, Veronica Ferreiro has been performing at the greatest jazz Festivals in the world.

A deep and warm voice, considered one of the most promising! Not to be missed!


Friday, March 10th 2017 –  WORKSHOP | Fokal
9 am – 10:30 am Paco Renteria (Mexico)
paco-renteria-imagen-prensa Paco Rentería is a Mexican guitarist, considered among the best in the world. He has the particular talent of transforming each of his scenes into a tsunami of emotions and sensations. With more than 100 concerts per year, Paco Rentería dazzles the audiences the world over by his technique and amazing virtuosity.

His tribal, uninhibited and sometimes provoking style totally changes the musical logic of his Gypsy, Latin-American and oriental melodies, and of his progressive and even sometimes metal rock sounds.

Paco Rentería: a phenomenal and quite overwhelming energy!